Hunting: From One Generation to the Next

Posted: January 24, 2011 in CenTexHunter, Dove hunting, Family
Tags: , , , ,

(Part 1 of 2)

My son had reached an age where I felt he was ready to be introduced to the world of hunting–and I went about it by drawing from my own experiences. Once he learned the fundamentals of basic gun safety with air guns and my 22LR, I chose to start him off with a shotgun. Last May, I headed down to a local sporting goods store by my office to browse their selection. I had enough in my budget for a youth Mossberg or (if I stretched a bit) perhaps the Remington 870 youth. After getting hands-on with the two guns, I felt the extra money for the 870 was a better buy, so I asked the clerk to wrap it up.

My son, Michael, turned ten last May; so my wife and I gave him the gun for his birthday. He was thrilled to finally own his very own gun! A family-friend of ours owns a large ranch not too far away from our house, so we spent many Saturdays shooting clay pigeons while continuing to work on proper gun safety and handling. I have to brag on the kid here: he has been a fast learner. I’m so proud of him and, considering his young age, how seriously he’s taking gun safety.

In August, we got him his first hunting and fishing license. He was bouncing off the walls of my truck all the way to the store–though I managed to calm him down enough to actually get him into the store. When we walked up to the counter and, before the clerk could ask if he could help us, Michael blurted out, “I’m here for my first hunting license!” It was a proud moment; I knew that, from here on, he would give serious hunting an earnest chance. Every morning after that he would wake up and let me know just haw many more days remained until dove season opened.

When opening weekend fell upon us, he was like a kid on Christmas morning. He couldn’t wait to get started: “Hurry! Hurry, dad, before the sun comes up!” I gave him a pat on the head and assured him we would be there with plenty of time to spare.

Comments
  1. leslie says:

    glad ur son is following ur footsteps. love ur blogs. keep us posted 😉

  2. jenny9876 says:

    your son was born to be a hunter, is in his blood, no doubt

  3. leslie says:

    cute son by the way. hope he becomes a great hunter

Leave a Reply

